The following controversial comments, from a group I belong to on Goodreads.com, is a very powerful discussion about what is perceived by some white folks as prejudice toward them by Native Americans. I sincerely hope you will read this carefully, especially the comment by moderator, Molly. Her words are firey weapons and they hit their mark.
As always, thank you for stopping by my blog. Please leave a comment if you are so inspired.                   jesse s. hanson
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
message 4:
by Joanna (new)
2957369 Han Maske,
My name is Joanna to ride on horseback.
My respected Great grandmother ,many winds in hair, was also one of many taken by a white fam. the Bailey’s. She was to be the wife of one of their sons at the age of 13. They had only 1 child a daughter given a white mans name,Maria,but by her mother she was called speaks with crows. She also became the woman of a white man, my grandfather a pilgrim. together they had 7 children the oldest my father.
My father became the man of a white women after my grandfather had moved his fam. back to Europe, as he could not stand how the white man raped and killed many innocent peoples. This is where the heart ship of my grandmother began. She was not allowed to speak her language (Lakota) as my grandfather was to afraid she wouldn’t be accepted in white mans community, so she for 6 years remained indoors. After having many grandchildren I was the one who was taught the Lakota way which I live by till this very day. Although I am the child of 2 wonderful people I saw a lot of pain in my fathers eyes but also many good things. One of them was Love,the others Respect and Honor. Why this long storie? My friend, the white man will never stop hunting us. It is all they know, destruction be it people,animals or Grandmother Earth. They are too ignorant coming to understand (among many other matters) that the children born from mixed blood will never end the search for whom they are or where they belong to, do I need to speak of the pain that comes with it? I in all honesty do not know, people here in the Netherlands see I differ from them, in the States the same thing. The only salvation for me is to speak to many of young, and tell them my storie and of my Brothers and Sisters. We American Indians be it a thin bloodline or completely American Indian will not be accepted by any Government or Institution of Human rights. So I do “feel” this Brother’s despair. All my Heart and Spirit is able to tell him at this point is to never give up to Walk the Red Road! As it has been foretold A new Nation will arise and be called the Rainbow Warriors.
As for my name? I sit on that Horse and ride through life as a warrior of the good, protecting every child in Prayer and saving them to the best of my abilities as I am a woman and we give life so we must protect it! As we are now Entering a New Era one must hope for the better that the Great Mystery made all of us as One! Only it is hard to see non Indigenous people as such which is a result of their actions towards us and others alike us.Many of us have tried, it is however not easy for memories do not die in life.
Wakan Tanka nici un,
ake he

Joanna to ride on horseback

 
message 5: by Carol (new)
Nophoto-f-25x33 Please be careful when you post. You’re statement that “the white man will never stop hunting us” is offensive to those of us who do not deserve to be lumped in a group. I did not live here during the time of the slaves, never owned one, family didn’t either. Wasn’t here when the white men came to America and were destructive to the native americans. I am not going to live my life paying the price for the ignorance of a prior generation.

message 8: by Monica (new)
347123 Good point, Carol I second that emotion and hope it doesn’t go unnoticed. It’s good not to be expected to take the blame for past generations, however it does not excuse the lack of knowledge of the Native American view of history.

Netflix doesn’t have anything called “LOST SPARROW”.
Will anyone recommend any other films with Native American content to rent?

message 9: by Molly (new)
769943 Carol wrote: “Please be careful when you post. You’re statement that “the white man will never stop hunting us” is offensive to those of us who do not deserve to be lumped in a group. I did not live here durin…”

Carol, are you a dead person, or someone who lives outside the USA? Because if you are neither, get off your “not my fault” horse.

The Pine Ridge and Zuni reservations are the poorest counties in the NATION. Native Americans on reservations make an average of $4,500 per YEAR. The Sioux Nation by treaty owns the entire states of North and South Dakota. Think they will ever be given back? The government stole trillions of dollars in fund monies for Native Americans. NA children still routinely get removed from their homes and put in boarding schools.

So yes, you benefit every day from what white people did and DO, today. You live off a rape that continues today. So much for you not paying a price. Thanks, because you pay no price, Natives do. Daily. Because today’s generation is no less ignorant than the last.

message 10: by Pamela (new)
307722 I firmly second that Molly. Well said. Unless and until American schools begin to teach American History in a truthful way instead of “cowboys and indians” this generation and future generations remain ignorant to the reality of Native Americans today. Native American Indian Reservations…the Reservation System as a whole…in reality is this: 3rd World Nations living in a 1st World country. Now say that to yourself again. We think of 3rd World countries as being African, or Haiti or Mexico…….NOT being a part of America. But there you have it. And this is TODAY’S reality. NOW.

This comment is not to provoke. Only to encourage. If our education system is failing to tell the truth to America’s youth today about the GENOCIDE of the North American Indian…don’t we owe it to our children to teach them ourselves? As a Blackfoot Sioux…that’s all I ask. Tell the truth…and look at us NOW. Please don’t act like we exist only in myths and stories.

message 11: by jesse (new)
3550640 Dear Carol,
Although I understand what you’re saying, I think you should reconsider. I made a similar statement to yours many years ago in a Black history class in College. I lived to regret it.
It’s true that our white race has never stopped hunting and killing the Native Americans just as it has never stopped hunting down the runaway black slaves. It has never stopped humiliating the Chinese railroad worker. The list goes on.
Many Native Americans were hunted to extinction. Many others are near extinction. This is not a personal thing. The United States is a nation built upon greed and abuse and violence. Maybe God will forgive us, but let’s not tell the Native Americans to forgive us.

