I started out rather tentative with my blog, I will admit. And again I will admit that my main purpose was to create a platform on which to create interest in and help to sell my novel, Song of George: Portrait of an Unlikely Holy Man.  I thought, Don’t reveal too much of yourself (like those kids–and many adults as well– on facebook who tell every little detail of their lives) don’t be too vulnerable, which means don’t be too controversial. There will be very very few who agree with you, not to mention that if you reveal what you really believe, you will lose any sense of mystery that you might have. The New Age folks won’t like you. The mainstream Christians won’t like you. The Sikhs and the Hindus and the Muslims won’t like you. And certainly the atheists won’t give you the time of day. No one will be interested in your book except the narrowest little group who will agree with some of the things that you say. But the bizzare thing about it all, is that my book is nothing but revealing (re: my vulnerability) and controversial, spiritually.
     So some while back, my thought process changed in that regard. I’ve been quite straight-forward since then.
     Here, I am continuing in that vein, with another post about spirituality, that reflects my understanding/point of view. Again, I want to make it very clear here, the I am not an expert on spirituality. I am just someone who has been exposed to and was taken under the wing of an extreme personality, Who was beyond my hopes and expectations. I still hope to create an interest for my book, I don’t deny it. But somehow my blog has become more that to me now, and I think it has become something more than that to some others, also.
     The following was original posted on Facebook by Sant Mat on Monday, September 27, 2010 at 4:07am. It seemed to be quite a popular post among those interested in Sant Mat and so I am including it here.
     I, myself, thought it was a very interesting post because I am often asked if it is the Sikh Religion that I follow. The answer is no. My understanding is that Saints (Sants)(not those saints nominated and given such a designation by other men and women, but true manifestations of supreme personality) have been coming into the world since the beginning of time. So the ten Sikh Gurus were, of course, such-like Saints, but they were not the first. Neither were they the last.
     My Master, Ajaib Singh taught us that Tulsi Sahab Ji was a very key player in the line of Saints as descended from the Sikh Gurus.
                                                                                                                 jesse s. hanson
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
     Now, just one more thing before the borrowed post.  In the little information box on the left hand side of the facebook page, under the heading Founded, there is the following:
     The term “Sant Mat” was coined by Sant Tulsi Sahib, but the Sant tradition, with its many guru-lineages, dates back to ancient India. Sant Mat Fellowship is an inter-faith group founded in 1999. This is the Official Page for the Sant Mat Satsang Podcast. 

THE POST

Sant Tulsi Sahab: Unravel the Fourteen Inner Levels Within You 

Sant Tulsi Saheb (Younger)

 

English rendering of Hindi translation, by Maharshi Santsewi ji Paramhans, of a verse composed by Sant Tulsi Sahab of Hathras, founder of Modern Lineage of Santmat, excerpted from the October 2004 edition of the Hindi Monthly “Shanti Sandesh” (Message of Peace) published by Maharshi Mehi Ashram, Kuppa Ghat, Bhagalpur, Bihar, India – 812003.

– English Translation by Pravesh K. Singh: 

    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/sant_santati

Once a Muslim gentleman, named Taki, called on Sant Tulsi Sahab. He submitted to his (Tulsi Sahab’s) kind attention, “You are the Guru to Hindus and Pir to Muslims. I have come to you to learn some divine secrets from you. It would be a great favour, if you could enlighten me.” Sant Tulsi Sahab said, “Ask! What’s it you wish to know?” Taki asked, “Where does Khuda [God] live? What is the way to find Him?” What Sant Tulsi Sahab said in reply in verse form is presented below:

Original Verse:

“Sun ay Taki na jaaio jinahaar dekhanaa | Apane mein aap jalawaye diladaar dekhanaa || Putalee mein til hai til mein bharaa raaj kul kaa kul | Is paradaye siyah ke jaraa paar dekhanaa || Chaudah tabak kaa haal ayaan ho tujhe zaroor | Gaafil na ho khayaal se hushiyaar dekhana ||Sun laamakaan pay panhuch ke teree pukaar hai |Hai aa rahee sadaa se sadaa yaar dekhanaa || Milanaa to yaar kaa naheen mushkil magar Taki |Dushawaar to ye hai ki dushawaar dekhanaa || Tulsi binaa karam kisee murshad raseedaa ke | Raahe nizaat door hai us paar dekhanaa || 

Translation:

O Taki! Listen! Never look or search outside to find God | He is within you; behold His Light which is illuminating your inside (the Inner Sky)||

All the secrets of God–Realisation are hidden inside the black `til’ (Point) that is located within your pupils |However, those secrets will be revealed to you only if you learnt to see beyond the dark curtain (that is, beyond the empire of darkness that is seen on closing our eyes) || 

Rigorous practice of inner meditation would unravel the fourteen levels (including the seven levels of `pind’ or body and the seven levels of`brahmaand’ or the macro-cosmos (namely, ajnaa chakrasahasradal kamalshoonyamaha-shoonyabhanwar gufaa, and sat lok) | But for that to happen, you will have to alertly focus your attention at the place prescribed by the Guru ||

On reaching into the `shoonya’ or void, you would listen to the Sound or Word… | The sound (primeval or Quintessential Sound) through which God has been calling you right since you separated from Him ||

It is not difficult to find the dearest (God), but O Taki…| …it is difficult to look beyond that difficult curtain of darkness ||

Tulsi Sahab says, but for the merciful grace of an accomplished Guru… | It is almost impossible to find the way out beyond the three coverings or veils of darkness, Light and Sound, and to meet the Supreme Lord! ||

Sant Tulsi Sahib (Older)

 

