One could say it’s a topic not worth the effort. Hardly a topic at all.
I did a little google search and I didn’t come up with much. I really thought I’d run across a bit more sarcasm about the stars.

So what do the stars do? They shine light on the subject, the subject of the review. They also point the way. There’s 5 Stars on this review about this book. Must be good! There’s only 3 stars on that review about that book. Must not be too good. And then, they provide a shortcut for those who may not be willing, for one reason or another to actually read the review. Just follow the stars. Read the stars.
Of course, another quality of the shining stars is that the vanity of the writer is addressed, effectuated, assuaged, cosummated, or in a bad case scenario, deflated – it all depends on the writer of the book. Well …, it also depends on the relationship of the writer of the review with the writer of the book.  A fan? A personal relationship? Just someone who read the book because they liked the cover?

Well, at least maybe now if someone googles, “the stars in literary reviews” or “what’s with the stars in literary reviews” some sarcasm will come up. Oh, good job Honey, here’s a gold star for you! (red in the example shown above – I may have been better served to use an example with fewer stars, now that I think about it).

I sure don’t want to end on a sour note like that. Reviews and the publication of reviews are one of the most effective tools available for readers and writers alike. I like to write reviews and I like to get good reviews. I just don’t like the stars.

So if anyone out there agrees with me, you can show your support, after my book comes out,  by posting five (red, gold, any color will do really) stars on any review you might write for it.  

As always, thanks for stopping by my blog.           Namaste,  jesse

